When pregnancy doesn’t make you glow.

I have never had what I personally would deem a ‘normal’ or ‘straightforward’ pregnancy. To be fair I don’t think I’ve ever had what you would deem a ‘normal’ or ‘straightforward’ life. Maybe a big part of that is because I am neither of those two things, just ask my husband πŸ˜‰

However, at the same time I know they could have all been a hell of a lot more complicated, so am grateful that they weren’t worse, but sometimes feel sad they weren’t simpler. I hope that makes sense?

This is my eighth pregnancy in ten years. Fertile Mertyle or what, which is funny considering I was originally believed to have had fertility issues. I have had issues with early losses so this pregnancy and subsequently the baby that will follow means I will had had a 50/50 success rate with my pregnancies… Again, it could have been better, but it could have been worse. 

What I have found is I don’t do pregnancy well. During the 4 successful pregnancies I have had I have listed below some of the issues/worries I have struggled with, some have led to real issues others have self resolved but added a lot of stress and anxiety to the pregnancy.

* click the links to be taken to the Relvevent NHS page for a more detailed explanation 

β€’ Hydronephrosis 

This is when the kidney dilates and stops draining as efficiently as it should. This is a common pregnancy complaint, however mine went beyond what is normal. In my first pregnancy this wasn’t detected till the very end of my pregnancy and was the deciding factor in the decision for me to be induced.

 During my second pregnancy I had a procedure at 20 weeks, to have a tube inserted into my kidney which manually drained it. The procedure was called a Nephrostomy and meant I had a bag of urine attached to my back. Sexy!

  

This is a photo of my husband changing the bag during my labour. He did this many, many times during my pregnancy. {He really is a good egg and I don’t give him enough credit really}. The procedure also meant I was on constant antibiotics a for 24 weeks to try and eliminate the risk of infection.

β€’ Placenta Previa

Also known as a low lying placenta, this was particularly worrisome as I had scar tissue from my previous c section, there was an increased risk of bleeding  which was worrisome due to my negative blood type and issues with anemia. Thankfully by 26 weeks it had rectified itself, but it was a real source of concern for a period of time.

β€’ Polyhydramnois

This is when there is too much amneotic fluid. I had to have lots more extra scans {always nice to see baby} and consultant appointments {not so nice} and again this caused  much concern, but thankfully rectified itself by the later stages of the pregnancy.

β€’  Severe Anemia

Most ladies become a little anemic during some stage of pregnancy and the body can generally adapt or they can remedy it with simple tablets or tonics.   

Unfortunately I am unable to do this. My levels drop extremely low and fast. The normal range for Iron is between 50-200 mine went down to 7. A normal/ accepted range for HB is 10.5 [105] to 14.0 [140] mine went down to 6.6 [66]. It resulted in Me having to have 2 separate Blood transfusions using up 3 units of blood and it is suspected I will need more before baby is delivered.

  

So what is the point of this post? It’s to say that pregnancy isn’t always amazing. You don’t have to feel fantastic all the time. Sometimes it downright sucks and that can be when you are having a completely normal textbook pregnancy, so when you have health worries or complications it can down right suck! 

Also this is for all the women who are having these problems, I often felt alone. I didn’t know anyone who was experiencing the things I was. But we aren’t alone and even if it is through the Internet we can find someone who can truly understand how exhausting it all can be, not just physically, but mentally too, the stress and the extra appointments, it all takes its toll. 

I have been extremely lucky  in that none of my problems have carried on after delivery and my babies have all been fine.

I do carry very low with all my babies (they have all been boys) although this one (the full length and white t shirt) the gender is unknown. * care to take a guess???

  

So… To sum it all up when pregnancy doesn’t make you glow… It’s OK! 

It’s OK to moan, it’s OK to feel slightly envious of those that do glow, of those that get to have the pregnancy and sometimes the birth that you wanted. Recognise those feelings, accept them and then you can move on!!! Before you know it, it’s time to enjoy baby! 

Thanks for reading

Cherrysnotmyname πŸ’

Cherie πŸ’•
 

2 thoughts on “When pregnancy doesn’t make you glow.

    • Thank you Daisychainuk thankfully I’m having a better period at the moment. I have been very grateful never to have suffered with HG. My sister had it and I know how much it effects you.

      Thank you for taking the time to comment. Ps, love the name Levi x

      Like

Leave a Reply

