The fear that he may run

 Recently Zachary has become more prone to running. When I say running I mean running off/wandering. They have been small incidents and no harm has come to Zachary, thankfully. It means I have had to start using his reigns again. This gives me both an element of control and also a sense of safety, which means it is automatically a more relaxed and enjoyable trip for us all.

The incident

Last week we were at a local park meeting friends, when one second Zachary was behind me, just out of my eye line, then suddenly he wasn’t. I skimmed the park that was full of children and it must have been 10 seconds before I asked out loud “Where’s Zachary?”. Another 10 seconds must have passed before my husband saw he had climbed over the footstep and got over the fence. He was running away from us, alongside the stream. My husband had jumped the wall and was pelting after him, before I could even suggest that is what he should do.

When I was talking to my friend, I mentioned that it is a very autistic trait to run/wander off. Previously it wasn’t really a cause for concern. However, lately it was a little more worrying. We spoke about how it was quite common at this age 3y 9m to do this, but it didn’t sit well with me. I never worried (well not like this) when my older son was this age. It was only after a conversation on one of the Autism support groups, that I realised my issue was that Zachary, God forbid, should he ever get lost/run away. Couldn’t answer simple questions like:

  • What is your name?
  • How old are you?
  • What is your Mum’s name?
  • What is your Dad’s name?
  • Where are your Mum and Dad?
  • Are you lost?
  • Are you OK?
  • Where have you come from?
  • Where are you going?

Which meant if he got lost, it would make it even harder for someone to try and help him get found. Then I realised we are going on holiday to a foreign country and this was a hidden anxiety of mine. After a quick google I found a company called Iceid I purchased one of their products and my next blog post is a review of the product. I would love for you to check it out.
Thanks for reading

Cherrysnotmyname 🍒

Leave a Reply

