Where I am at 23/04/2015

Hi

If this is your first time visiting my blog, hello and welcome. If you have been before and have decided to revisit, thank you 😘. For all you newbies, I hope you will have a look round, feel free to like my posts and leave comments. It’s always lovely to hear from the people who are reading this. I just wanted to do a quick update as to where I am right now. 

There have been a few changes at home, I left my last job just over a month ago. I have been half heartedly looking for work, but it’s been really hard to find something that fits in around my family. The Mr and I have decided that I will not return to work at this present time. There were many factors, one of them being the amount of time off I would need off over the next 6 weeks for both Zachary and Darwin’s appointments. I wouldn’t be able to get all the time off work and if I was temping I would loose out on too much money. So the plan is I stay home, Zachary does his 30 hours at nursery and we will pay for Darwin to do two days a week. There are two reasons for this. One is to give me a break, the second one is so Darwin will still get lots of peer interaction and we can continue to work on his language as it has been confirmed he has a speech delay. 

I have four weeks from today, where the children will be in full time nursery. After that we switch to the new school based hours 9.30-4. My plan for these next four weeks is to get my life and house in order. For those that know me personally, I have tried this staying at home malarkey before a few times and have failed. I have four key flaws I am messy, disorganised, a little lazy and I lurve to procrastinate. These do not make for a clean,organised, happy, non stressed family. In the past I have blamed it on everyone but me. Well this time, I have decided that I want it to be different. Only I can make it different. 

I have been looking at some wonderful websites and blogs Imperfect homemaking this is a great blog with lots of pictures and has some monthly challenges, it’s worth having a look at Forever organised Jess works part time and she looks after her little girl. She has some brilliant ideas how to organise your time and make things practical and pretty. Last but not least there is Organise my house this is a lovely site where you can dip into bits and pieces and take the bits that suit your life and family. I am pretty sure all of these have Twitter, Facebook and Instagram so you can follow them on those sites too. Great if you need daily motivation. I have also been speaking to two super organised friends Kerri and Katie, you will hear more about them in another post I am working on. 

My next four weeks are going to be about restoring my house to order and preparing for the new shift in our family dynamic. One of the things I have learnt from my scouring the Internet for some magic potion which will me be a better home maker, is it is ok to need to make lists, I don’t have to magically remember everything off the top of my head. It’s ok, no it’s vital to have a plan for almost every area of my life and I MUST get the rest of my family involved, it’s a team effort. I need to run my family like a little business. It needs structure, boundaries and consitency. When I am working at a job, I am committed, I love having lists and being organised, at home not so much. Well it’s time to change. 

I am beginning by decluttering and deep cleaning EVERY room in my house and will also do the gardens too. I am not thinking this is a quick job, it’s going to take time. I am decluttering and I am going to be brutal. I have started on my kitchen and it is already so much better. I know where everything is and it’s a million times easier to clean. My plan is to create a mini command centre in our house, where there will a weekly food menu, a daily and weekly jobs list,  a weekly diary and other things to help us get organised. Like I said, I am going to start running it like a business, change is going to take time and some things might work and something’s might not work, but we will change and adjust. I am glad that I have these four weeks, to give me the time to get things how I want and need them to be. I have an end goal in sight and I am going to make steps every day to get there. 

Some people may be thinking why am I going on about this and how hard is it to maintain a nice, calm, organised household. For me it is hard, it doesn’t come naturally, I really wish it did. If it does for you I am pleased and eager for you to share your tips with me. I am going to continue to blog, it’s like a therapy for me and I miss it when I don’t do it. I hope you will follow me on this journey. I’m off to finish deep cleaning my kitchen. 
Thanks for reading 

Cherrysnotmyname πŸ’

Leave a Reply

